Metro and Metro Santa Cruz
Win Local Awards

On April 17, 1998, the Peninsula Press Club announced the winners of its 1997 Professional Journalism Awards Competition. The following Metro Newspapers' contritubtors picked up awards.

From Metro Santa Cruz:

Christina Waters received first place for light feature story ("Mom's Fridge").

Kelly Luker received first place for general news, weeklies ("Toxic Hit Man").

Robert Scheer and George Sakkestad received second place for photo series ("The F Stops Here").

From Metro:

J. Douglas Allen-Taylor received first place for specialty story ("Liquid Lunge").

Will Harper received an honorable mention for feature story, weeklies ("The New Jesus").